When Do One Piece Movies Take Place?

One Piece is a popular anime and manga series, and fans often wonder when the movies take place in relation to the main story. While the answer is not always clear, we can make some educated guesses based on the release dates of the movies and the events that take place in them.

Checkout this video:


One Piece is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Eiichiro Oda. It has been serialized in Shueisha’s Weekly Shōnen Jump magazine since July 1997, with the chapters collected into ninety-six tankōbon volumes as of April 2020. The story follows the adventures of Monkey D. Luffy, a boy whose body gained the properties of rubber after unintentionally eating a Devil Fruit. With his crew of pirates, named the Straw Hat Pirates, Luffy explores the Grand Line in search of One Piece, aiming to become the next Pirate King.

ovies are generally released about 1 year after their respective arcs end (Theatrical Release).

-The first movie was released in 2000, during the Alabasta arc.
-The second movie came out 2003, during the Skypiea arc.
-The third movie was released in 2005, during the Enies Lobby arc.
-The fourth movie came out in 2006, post timeskip and Thriller Bark arc.
-The fifth movie was released in 2007, during the Sabaody Archipelago and Amazon Lily arcs.
-The sixth movie came out in 2008, during the Impel Down and Marineford arcs.
-The seventh movie was released in 2009 post time skip and Fishman Island arc.
-Movie 8 came out 2011 taking place between Post time skip Thriller Bark arc and Post time skip Sabaody Archipelago arc.
-Movie 9 was released 2012 between Post time skip Amazon Lily arc and Post time skip Impel Down arc.
Post your questions below if you have any other questions!

The first movie

The first movie, “The Desert Princess and the Pirates: Adventure in Alabasta”, is a retelling of the Alabasta Arc. It was released in Japan on March 3, 2007, and was released in the United States on September 29, 2008.

The second movie, “One Piece Film: Strong World”, is a completely original story written by Oda. It was released in Japan on December 12, 2009, and was released in the United States on DVD/Blu-Ray on December 15, 2010.

The third movie, “One Piece Film: Z”, is set after the Marineford Arc and before the Fishman Island Arc. It was released in Japan on December 31, 2012, and will be released in the United States sometime in 2014.

The second movie

The second movie, One Piece: Adventure of Nebulandia, is set on an uninhabited island called Nebulandia, which nullifies the powers of Devil Fruits. The movie revolves around the Straw Hats’ battle against Foxy the Silver Fox and his pirate crew, the Fallen Four.

The third movie

The third movie, entitled Strong World, is set 20 years after the events of the TV series. The movie’s story was conceived by Oda, and its script written by Yoshiyuki Suga. Mamoru Hosoda directed the film, and Kazuya Tsurumaki served as animation director. Strong World was released on December 12, 2009, in Japan. It grossed more than ¥4 billion worldwide, becoming the fastest selling Blu-ray Disc in Japan at the time. In North America, it was released on DVD and Blu-ray Disc on May 18, 2010.

The fourth movie

The fourth movie, One Piece Film: Gold, is set after the events of the Dressrosa arc.

The fifth movie

The fifth movie, titled “One Piece: Dead End Adventure”, is set after the events of the ninth movie and before the tenth movie.

The sixth movie

The sixth movie, titled “Baron Omatsuri and the Secret Island”, was released on March 19, 2005. It is set after the events of the Marineford Arc and before the timeskip.

The seventh movie

The seventh movie, One Piece Film: Gold, is set during the Gran Tesoro Arc, which is the thirty second story arc in the series. The arc spans from Chapters 597-618 of the manga, and Episodes 517-539 of the anime. The movie was released in Japan on July 23, 2016.

The eighth movie

One Piece Film: Gold is the 13th One Piece movie, which was released in Japanese theaters on July 23, 2016. The movie was produced by Toei Animation, and directed by Hiroaki Miyamoto.

The story of the movie takes place between the Dressrosa Arc and the Whole Cake Island Arc. In the movie, the Straw Hat Pirates team up with a group of pirates to take on Gild Tesoro, a powerful businessman who controls an entire city made of gold.

While One Piece Film: Gold is the 13th movie in the franchise, it is actually considered the 8th “canon” movie. The first seven movies are not considered part of the main story, but are instead side-stories that feature some of the characters from the series.


After Luffy defeats Crocodile, he inadvertently becomes the ruler of Alabasta and chooses to give up his title after the Straw Hats’ adventure there. The placement of this movie is debatable, but we believe it falls between the events of the Baroque Works and Sky Island sagas. The Straw Hats gain a new crew member in Vivi, and we see more development between Luffy and Zoro’s relationship.

Scroll to Top