When To Watch One Piece Movies?

One Piece is a great anime, but when should you watch the movies? I’ve got you covered with this guide.

Checkout this video:


One Piece is a Japanese manga series created by Eiichiro Oda. It has been serialized in Shueisha’s Weekly Shōnen Jump magazine since July 1997, with the chapters collected into ninety tankōbon volumes. The story follows the adventures of Monkey D. Luffy, a boy whose body gained the properties of rubber after unintentionally eating a Devil Fruit. With his crew of pirates, named the Straw Hat Pirates, Luffy explores the Grand Line in search of One Piece, while also attempting to become the new Pirate King.

The series has been adapted into an anime television series produced by Toei Animation that began broadcasting in Japan on Fuji Television on October 20, 1999. Additionally, Toei has developed eleven animated feature films, three specials, and twelve original video animations (OVAs). The first Film Z trailer was released on December 15th 2012 during a confrontation between Aokiji and Kizaru. It was later revealed that Film Z is the 11th One Piece movie and it was released in Japanese theaters on December 15th 2012.

In North America, Funimation licensed the franchise for an English-language release in 2007. In addition to streaming Funimation-produced episodes on its website and Hulu,[1] Crunchyroll began simulcasting One Piece shortly after each episode’s Japanese premiere beginning with Episode 517 as part of their Crunchyroll/Funimation partnership announced on February 18th 2013[2][3][4] In Australia and New Zealand Madman Entertainment licenses One Piece for an English release.[5]

The First Movie

The first movie, One Piece: The Movie, was theatrically released in Japan on March 4, 2000. The movie was later released on DVD and VHS in Japan on January 21, 2001. The movie was released in the United States on DVD and VHS by 4Kids Entertainment on August 21, 2001. 4Kids did not dub the third or fourth movies.

The movie’s story is set before the start of the series, and follows a young Monkey D. Luffy as he gains an ability that allows him to stretch like rubber. With this new-found power, he sets out to find the legendary treasure known as “One Piece”, so that he can become Pirate King like his role model, Shanks. Along his journey, he meets a swordsman named Roronoa Zoro who joins his crew, as well as a thief named Nami who agrees to help them map out the sea. While stopping at an island they saved from a giantess named Alvida, they meet a cursed man named Coby who also dreams of becoming a marine someday. After Alvida is defeated by Luffy’s new attack “Gum-Gum Bazooka”, she leads them to Captain Buggy the Clown’s ship where Nami manages to steal his treasure map. However, Buggy captures them and has his minions hold them above a piranha pit where they are saved by none other than Captain John Giant, who was disfigured after eating one of Buggy’s poisonous “Candy fruits”. After being held captive by Giant for several days working as slaves in his circus troupe (which included having Zoro fight Giant’s champion Helmeppo), they finally manage to escape but are pursued by Giant and Buggy until they stumble across Marine Lieutenant Commander Garp who easily defeats both pirates single-handedly with only one punch each (an event which would have serious implications in both Coby and Helmeppo’s futures). Afterwards Garp takes Luffy away while Coby and Helmeppo are arrested by the Marines.

A few years later, Luffy sets sail again in search of One Piece with Zoro and Coby now part of his crew along with a Straw Hat given to him by Shanks (who had made peace with Buggy after their encounter with Garp). They soon come across a barrel floating at sea which turns out to be Nami who had been taken captive by Buggy once again after she refused to hand over her treasure map (she had made copies of it beforehand). After rescuing her from execution at the hands of Omar Bernett (a former follower of Gol D. Roger turned bounty hunter), Luffy helps her get revenge against Bernett before continuing on their journey only for Zoro to be separated from them during a storm caused by what turns out to be Bartholomew Kuma (another former follower of Roger) who had been sent by the World Government to capture any survivors of Roger’s crew including Ace (Roger’s illegitimate son whom Kuma would end up running into much later down the line during Ace’s own journey).

The Second Movie

The second movie, One Piece: Clockwork Island Adventure, was released in 2001. The movie follows the Straw Hat Pirates as they attempt to rescue the Retrieved December 2018, from https://pirateking.fandom.com/wiki/One_Piece_Movies Wiki 2 children of an island from a group of ruthless pirates.

The Third Movie

The third movie, entitled Strong World, was released on December 12, 2009. Of the movies that have been released so far, Strong World is the only one that is canon to the One Piece storyline. It takes place 20 years before the main story and tells the tales of how Shiki, the “Golden Lion,” took over East Blue.

The Fourth Movie

The fourth movie in the series, One Piece: Dead End Adventure, was released in Japan on March 1, 2003 and was available on DVD May 27, 2003. The movie was later released in the United States on November 9, 2004.

The Fifth Movie

The fifth movie in the One Piece franchise is called Dead End Adventure. It was released in Japanese theaters on March 4, 2003. The movie’s story is set after the events of the Enies Lobby arc, and follows the Straw Hats as they enter an abandoned town in search of treasure. They soon find themselves being pursued by a group of pirates called the Dead End Gang. The movie was directed by Konosuke Uda and was written by Toshio Suzuki.

The Sixth Movie

The Sixth Film:Piece of the puzzle
The sixth movie in the series is called “Piece of the Puzzle”. The movie was released on September 26, 2015. It is available to watch on Netflix.

The Seventh Movie

The seventh movie in the series, titled “One Piece Film: Gold” was released in Japanese theaters on July 23, 2016. The movie follows the Straw Hat pirates as they travel to Gran Tesoro, a floating city of entertainment overseen by Gild Tesoro, the richest man in the world.

The Straw Hats soon find themselves in trouble when they realize that Tesoro is using his power and wealth to control people and keep them from escaping the city. It’s up to Luffy and his crew to take down Tesoro and his crew, and save their friends before it’s too late.

“One Piece Film: Gold” is a must-watch for any fan of the series. It’s an action-packed movie with great animation and an exciting story. If you’re looking for a chance to catch up on the series, or just want to watch a great movie, make sure to check out “One Piece Film: Gold.”

The Eighth Movie

The eighth movie in the series, One Piece Film: Gold, was released in Japan on July 23, 2016. The movie is set in Gran Tesoro, a floating casino city controlled by Gild Tesoro, an infamous pirate-tyrant-tycoon. The Straw Hats visit Gran Tesoro while in search of gold and end up getting caught in the middle of Tesoro’s plot to take over the world.

The movie received mixed reviews, with some praising its animation and action sequences, while others criticized its plot and pacing. Overall, it was a box office success, grossing over billion yen.

If you want to watch the movie, you can find it online or by purchasing the DVD/Blu-ray release.

The Ninth Movie

The Ninth Movie, also known as One Piece Film: Gold, is set to be released in Japanese theaters on July 23, 2016. As with most One Piece movies, there is no official word yet on when or if the film will be released internationally. However, based on the release schedule for the previous eight films, it is likely that fans outside of Japan will have to wait several months to see The Ninth Movie.

Scroll to Top